Website by Magicdust




The NCWWA 2019 STEM Bursary is open for applications. 

Attached is an application form. 


The NCWWA STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) Bursary is available

to a female student studying a STEM course in Western Australia at a Year 12, TAFE or University

level. Applications are called for annually and in 2019 two Bursaries will be awarded.

The Bursary may be used to support further study in a range of areas.

Full details including the selection criteria (which must be addressed) are available on the

application form.

Closing date is 12 Noon Monday 18 March 2019.


If anyone has a further queries  about the STEM Bursary please contact:


Robyn Nolan

0417 917 294


STEM Bursary 2019 Application Form.pdf  










Congratulations CARIS COLLARD of Geraldton        


Thank you to those who had an application submitted on their behalf for the Paddy Firstenberg

Memorial Award. There were a number of outstanding applications from Perth, Geraldton and the Pilbara.


The Paddy Firstenberg applications were asked to address the selection criteria of

•demonstrated leadership ability

•service as a role model or mentor

•commitment to the empowerment of women

•how the business industry or community has benefited from the nominee's contribution


A small NCWWA selection committee met recently and awarded the 2018 Paddy Firstenberg

Memorial Award to Caris Collard, a young aboriginal woman from Geraldton. Caris has

initiated and manages a program for local indigenous girls in Geraldton and is committed to

empowering young women and is very active in the local community in Geraldton and in the



Caris is a vocal member of a large number of associations in the Midwest of Western Australia

and is committed to the advancement of other women.


Caris will be invited to receive her award at the NCWWA AGM or at the earliest opportunity after

that time.


Robyn Nolan

President NCWWA





The Hon Simone McGurk MLA, the Western Australian Minister for Women, hosted a Morning Tea at Parliament House for members of the NCWWA Executive and Life Members at Parliament House recently. The Morning Tea included the presentation to the NCWWA 2018 STEM Bursary winner and runner-up. 


Congratulations to Laura Harris, a first year Bachelor of Engineering student studying Mechatronics at Curtin University who is the NCWWA 2018 STEM Bursary winner.

(Mechatronics is a multidisciplinary field of science that includes a combination of mechanical 

engineering, electronics, computer engineering, telecommunications engineering, systems 

engineering and control engineering…..Robots)


Congratulations also to Dana McMullen who is currently studying Mechanical Engineering 

(Honours) at Curtin University who is the NCWWA 2018 STEM Bursary Runner-Up. 


Thank you to Cassie Rowe MLA Member for Belmont who stepped in to represent the 

Minister at the last minute and made the presentations.